Political system Federal system with multi-party democracy.

Head of state President Dr. Mulatu Teshome

Head of government Prime Minister Halilemariam Desalegn

Government The Ethiopian Constitution was adopted in 1995. The Constitution provides for federal system, which is structurally based on the federal government with nine autonomous regional states and two chartered city administrations. The FDRE has a parliamentarian form of government with a bicameral parliament which comprises the House of the Peoples’

Representatives and the House of the Federation. The House of the Peoples’ Representatives is the highest authority of the Federal Government.

Capital city Addis Ababa

Location Ethiopia is situated in the north-eastern part of Africa. It is bordered by South Sudan and the Sudan to the west, Eritrea to the north, Djibouti and Somalia to the east and Kenya to the south, extending 30 to 15 0 north of the equator and 33 0 to 48 0 east of the Greenwich meridian.

Area 1.14 million square kilometers (27th biggest country in the world).

Arable land 513,000 square kilometers (45%)

Irrigated land 34,200 square kilometers (3%)

Head of Government